The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
    Columbia College Chicago
   
 
  Sep 24, 2017
 
 
    
2010-2011 Undergraduate Course Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Academic Calendar


College Semesters and Schedules

Each academic year at Columbia consists of two 15-week semesters (fall and spring), plus a summer semester. While the usual term of a class is a full 15 weeks, some subjects may be offered in shorter periods, ranging from one to eight weeks. Such intensive segments meet more frequently than traditional, 15-week courses. Courses are scheduled during the day and evening as well as on Saturdays to accommodate the schedules of working students, who compose a substantial percentage of the Columbia community. The January session (J-Session) is designed to offer concentrated learning experiences usually not available in the regular semester. Such courses are designed for both the matriculating and non-matriculating undergraduate student and may include, but are not limited to, immersion, intensive research, travel, certification, internships, master classes, community service, and workshops. A student may earn a maximum of four credits per J-Session. For information contact the College Advising Center.

For specific courses taught in any given semester, please consult the online course schedule for that semester.

Go to Online Course Schedule

Fall Semester 2010

Labor Day holiday Monday, September 6
Semester Begins Tuesday, September 7
Thanksgiving Thursday, November 25 - Sunday, November 28
Semester Ends Saturday, December 18

January Session 2011

Session begins Monday, January 3
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day holiday Monday, January 17
Session ends Saturday, January 22

Spring Semester 2011

Semester begins Monday, January 24
Spring break Monday, March 21 - Saturday, March 26
Semester ends Saturday, May 14
Commencement Saturday, May 14 and Sunday, May 15

Summer Session 2011

Session begins Monday, May 23
Memorial Day holiday Monday, May 30
5-week term ends Saturday, June 25
Independence Day holiday Monday, July 4
8-week term ends Saturday, July 16
10-week term ends Saturday, July 30
12-week term and session ends Saturday, August 13