The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
    Columbia College Chicago
   
 
  Sep 24, 2017
 
 
    
2011-2012 Course Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Academic Calendar


College Semesters and Schedules

Each academic year at Columbia consists of two 15-week semesters (fall and spring), plus a summer semester. While the usual term of a class is a full 15 weeks, some subjects may be offered in shorter periods, ranging from one to eight weeks. Such intensive segments meet more frequently than traditional, 15-week courses. Courses are scheduled during the day and evening as well as on Saturdays to accommodate the schedules of working students, who compose a substantial percentage of the Columbia community. The January session (J-Session) is designed to offer concentrated learning experiences usually not available in the regular semester. Such courses are designed for both the matriculating and non-matriculating undergraduate student and may include, but are not limited to, immersion, intensive research, travel, certification, internships, master classes, community service, and workshops.

 

For a list of courses offered by semester, go to Class Schedules.

 
FALL SEMESTER 2011
Labor Day holiday Monday, September 5
Semester Begins Tuesday, September 6
Thanksgiving Thursday, November 24 - Sunday, November 27
Semester Ends Saturday, December 17
JANUARY SESSION 2012
Session begins Tuesday, January 3*
Session ends Saturday, January 14*
SPRING SEMESTER 2012
Semester begins Tuesday, January 17*
Spring break Monday, March 26 - Saturday, March 31
Semester ends Saturday, May 5*
Commencement Saturday, May 5 and Sunday, May 6*
SUMMER SESSION 2012
Memorial Day holiday Monday, May 28
Session begins Tuesday, May 29
5-week term ends Saturday, June 30
Independence Day holiday Monday, July 4
8-week term ends Saturday, July 21
10-week term ends Saturday, August 4
12-week term and session ends Saturday, August 18

 

*Please note: as of 9/9/11 dates for the 2012 J-session and Spring Semester have changed. Read more…