Mar 29, 2020  
2014-2015 Course Catalog 
    
2014-2015 Course Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Academic Calendar


Columbia’s academic year consists of two 15-week semesters (fall and spring), plus a summer session. While the usual term of a class is a full 15 weeks, some subjects may be offered in shorter periods, ranging from one to eight weeks. Such intensive segments meet more frequently than traditional, 15-week courses. Courses are scheduled during the day and evening as well as on Saturdays. The January session (J-Session), part of the spring semester, is designed to offer concentrated learning experiences usually not available in the regular semester. Such courses are designed for both the matriculating and non-matriculating undergraduate student and may include, but are not limited to, immersion, intensive research, travel, certification, internships, master classes, community service, and workshops.

 

Fall Semester 2014


Labor Day holiday

Monday, September 1

Semester begins

Tuesday, September 2

Add Deadline
(Last day to add or change courses)

Monday, September 8

Drop Deadline
(Last day to drop courses)

Monday, September 15

Withdrawal Deadline
(Last day to withdraw from courses)

Monday October 27

Thanksgiving

Thursday, November 27 - Sunday, November 30

Semester Ends

Saturday, December 13


January Session 2015


Session begins

Monday, January 5

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day holiday

Monday, January 19

Session ends

Saturday, January 24


Spring Semester 2015


Semester begins

Monday, January 26

Add Deadline
(Last day to add or change courses)

Saturday, January 31

Drop Deadline
(Last day to drop courses)

Saturday, February 7

Withdrawal Deadline
(Last day to withdraw from courses)

Saturday, March 21

Spring break

Monday, March 23 - Saturday, March 28

Semester ends

Saturday, May 16

Commencement

Saturday, May 16 and Sunday, May 17


Summer Session 2015


Memorial Day holiday

Monday, May 25

Session begins

Tuesday, May 26

Add Deadline
(Last day to add or change courses)

Wednesday, May 27

Drop Deadline
(Last day to drop courses)

Monday, June 1

Withdrawal Deadline
(Last day to withdraw from courses)

Monday, June 22

5-week term ends

Saturday, June 27

Independence Day holiday

Friday, July 3

8-week term ends

Saturday, July 18

10-week term ends

Saturday, August 1

12-week term and session ends

Saturday, August 15