The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
    Columbia College Chicago
   
 
  Sep 24, 2017
 
 
    
2015-2016 Course Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Academic Calendar


Columbia’s academic year consists of two 15-week semesters (fall and spring), plus a summer session. While the usual term of a class is a full 15 weeks, some subjects may be offered in shorter periods, ranging from one to eight weeks. Such intensive segments meet more frequently than traditional, 15-week courses. Courses are scheduled during the day and evening as well as on Saturdays. The January session (J-Session), part of the spring semester, is designed to offer concentrated learning experiences usually not available in the regular semester. Such courses are designed for both the matriculating and non-matriculating undergraduate student and may include, but are not limited to, immersion, intensive research, travel, certification, internships, master classes, community service, and workshops.

 

Fall Semester 2015


Labor Day holiday

Monday, September 7

Semester begins

Tuesday, September 8

Add Deadline
(Last day to add or change courses)

Monday, September 14

Drop Deadline
(Last day to drop courses)

Monday, September 21

Withdrawal Deadline
(Last day to withdraw from courses)

Monday November 2

Thanksgiving

Thursday, November 26 - Sunday, November 29

Semester Ends

Saturday, December 19


January Session 2016


Session begins

Monday, January 4

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day holiday

Monday, January 18

Session ends

Saturday, January 23


Spring Semester 2016


Semester begins

Monday, January 25

Add Deadline
(Last day to add or change courses)

Saturday, January 30

Drop Deadline
(Last day to drop courses)

Saturday, February 6

Withdrawal Deadline
(Last day to withdraw from courses)

Saturday, March 19

Spring break

Monday, March 21 - Saturday, March 26

Semester ends

Saturday, May 14

Commencement

Saturday, May 14 and Sunday, May 15


Summer Session 2016


Session begins

Monday, May 23

Add Deadline
(Last day to add or change courses)

Tuesday, May 24

Drop Deadline
(Last day to drop courses)

Saturday, May 28 

Memorial Day holiday

Monday, May 30 

Withdrawal Deadline
(Last day to withdraw from courses)

Saturday, June 18

5-week term ends

Saturday, June 25

Independence Day holiday

Monday, July 4

8-week term ends

Saturday, July 16

10-week term ends

Saturday, July 30

12-week term and session ends

Saturday, August 13